Targeting lactate to potentiate CAR T-cell function in solid tumors

In this webinar, Dr. Roddy O’Connor will discuss how T cells can be genetically modified with synthetic receptors “CARs” that redirect their specificity against distinct tumor antigens. CAR T cells have proven more effective in B-cell malignancies than solid tumors, likely in part due to the metabolic milieu of solid tumors. At hypoxia, steep redox gradients suppress CAR T-cell function. NADH can be converted into NAD by the bacterial enzyme Lactobacillus brevis NADH Oxidase (LbNOX), which mimics the oxidative function of the electron transport chain without generating ATP. Here we test the ability of LbNOX to promote CAR-T cell metabolic activity and anti-tumor efficacy. 

Tune in to learn more about:

  • If lactate a friend or foe for CAR T-cells
  • How hypoxia is detrimental to CAR T-cell metabolic function
  • How to engineer CAR T-cell resilience against hypoxia

Date:
Thursday, April 22, 2021

Time:

10:00 AM PT (Los Angeles)

1:00 PM ET (New York)

5:00 PM GMT (London)

Presented by:

Roddy O'Connor, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Center for Cellular Immunotherapies
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania


  Register now  

For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostic procedures.

©2021 Agilent Technologies