How intracellular metabolic change governs immunity and inflammation

In this webinar, Dr. Luke O’Neill will discuss how metabolism is commandeered in both cancer immunotherapy and in host response to viral infection. The past 10 years or so has seen a major resurgence of interest in immunometabolism. Metabolic changes in immune cell activation has become a focus and the role of glycolysis and Krebs Cycle in the altered phenotype of macrophages and T cells has been explored in detailed. Metabolite such as succinate and itaconate have been probed and the potential to target metabolic change for therapeutic gain is gaining momentum.

Tune in to learn more about: 

  • An introduction to metabolic reprogramming in immunity: role of glycolysis and mitochondrial disturbance
  • PKM2 as key regulator of inflammatory macrophage activation and Th17 cell function.
  • Itaconate as anti-inflammatory metabolite that targets multiple inflammatory processes, notably NLRP3
  • Broader context of how viruses subvert immunometabolism and how this might be useful in current studies into COVID19

Date:
Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Time:
07:00 PDT (Los Angeles)
10:00 EDT (New York)
15:00 IST (Ireland)

Presented by:

Luke O'Neill, PhD
Professor (Chair of Biochemistry) Trinity College Dublin

  Register now  

For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostic procedures.

©2020 Agilent Technologies